Last Updated: 27 Feb 21
Saving in Kisekae 2 can be done a number of ways. Some are more permanent than others, and it is important that you understand the difference between the different types of save file, and which ones are right for you.
Saving using the Save Screen
Saving is done by clicking on the Import/export, save & load Tab, which is a common Tab in Easy/Expert mode, and on all Pages. The Easy mode only has the one option for saving, and that is the Save Screen.
To open the save screen in easy mode, navigate to the pink Import/export, save & load Tab.
To save a character file, highlight a field the has no data, and click on the ‘Save’ Tag down the bottom. The field will then change colour (the default is pink), and display the date and time that it was saved. Be aware, in this mode it will only save what is visible on the screen, and will not save Local Images that you have imported.
The data is then saved in your local files on your computer. This means if you delete your current version of the app then your save data is gone. This is where using Adobe Air to update your version of Kisekae 2 is super handy.
The data is saved as a text file, and these text files save the values you have applied to the characters. This means the save file can be quite small, which lends itself well to be saved in your browser files online.
What this also means is that if the values in the application change, like, say, and new function is added, your save files will still work, but the values no longer apply in exactly the same way as before. This may have unexpected results, and change your character ever so slightly, although if you are lucky it may not change at all. Just be aware.
You can Load your saved files by highlighting the save data you want to load and clicking on the Load Tag, and Delete them similarly by using the Delete Tag. To help protect against accidental deletion, there is a Lock Tag next to the Delete Tag, that ‘Locks’ the selected save file. You can keep track of your save files by using the Memo Field, and change the default colour value in the Colour Swatch on the far right.
Saving Data to file
When you switch over to Expert mode, things get a whole lot more interesting. The option to save using the Save Screen remains (as highlighted with the (1) above), but we now have a whole lot more options.
We can now Save and Load to a specified location on the hard drive of your computer in a place where it can be easily accessed, and placed with all your other important documents. The Save and Load functions work very much the same as the Save Screen, however it will open an file window and ask you to Save your file. Once again, it will be a text file, the same as with your Save Screen files.
The same limitations apply using this method as they do with the Save Screen, but you don’t have to worry about losing your browser or local file data. You can Load your Save file by clicking on the Load button, and navigating to your Save file.
The Import/Export Tools allow you to share or move your Character elsewhere, and they are explained in this post over here.
We then have the SAVE-ALL and LOAD-ALL buttons. The SAVE-ALL button saves a batch save file for all of your Save Screen files, and DOES NOT save your current characters or changes. This is a great way to back up all your Save Screen data to prevent data loss. It once again saves everything as a text file, and can be retrieved by selecting LOAD ALL and navigating to your YYMMDDsaveall.txt file. Just BE CAREFUL, as it will overwrite anything else you have saved locally on your save screen.